Chemistry Awards Ceremony 2024

The Chemistry Department held its annual Chemistry Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, May 1, in the Frank Hovorka Atrium. The department shared 33 awards with undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and staff. Drs. Leonard and Judith Andrews (CWRU, ’71) were both awarded the 2024 Outstanding Alumnus Award and shared a video presentation of their professional experiences in medical device development and regulation and fiber optic networks.

Congratulations to our 2024 Chemistry awards recipients!

The Ignacio Ocasio Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award to Angelene Getz

The Iota Sigma Pi Frank Hovorka Prize to Marlee Yancey and Natalie Hoffner

The Olin Freeman Tower Prize to Matthew Alexy, Sophia Beilharz, Hannah Worst, and Megan Gibas

The Carl F. Prutton Prize to Sophia Beilharz and Sergei Prokvolit

The W. R. Veazey Prize to Matthew Chang and Andrew Golden

The Hippolyte Gruener Award to Anuj Pahuja

The ACS Analytical Chemistry Award to John Spencer

The ACS Inorganic Chemistry Award to Sophia Beilharz

The ACS Organic Chemistry Award to Anthony Colangelo

The ACS Physical Chemistry Award to Maxine Chou

The George A. Olah Award to Sergei Prokvolit

The Dumitru and Gheorghe D. Mateescu Student Citizenship Award to Lexi Knight, Aaron Gonzaga, Nora Gerami, Emma Baumann, Abed Al-Sheikh, and Michael Hamoudi

The Costin D. Nenitzescu and Margareta Avram Award to Daniele Vinella, Konpal Raheja, and Andrew Golden

The Royal Society Certificate of Excellence to Matthew Chang

The Charles F. Mabery Award to Daniele Vinella

The Graduate Teaching Award to Lexi Knight and Siyang Liu

The Shaomeng Wang and Ju-Yun Li Best Thesis Graduate Student Award to Bowen Li

The Shaomeng Wang and Ju-Yun Li Faculty Award to Thomas Gray